This NOOB needs some help!!!

Okay, so I am very new to the Polaris world. I had an '89 Waverunner and a '94 Seadoo but sold them last year. I am in dyer need of some help with my 1995 Polaris SL750. I followed the guide on the MFD fix and I got it working GREAT! bright as crap and display works great. I have to replace the set button because I kind of melted it with a heat gun, but thats no biggie. My real problem is the previous owner. He was sloppy. Instead of tanking out the oil tank when he converted over to premix, he cut a whole in the oil tank. Not even the beginning of my problem. As I am going about working around the mess and cleaning up the bottom of the ski and various parts. I realized that the muffler was full of water so I cleaned it out. manifold was find, no cracks or anything like that. But as I am cleaning I try to use the trim switch. To my dismay, the switch does not work at all. I got out the handy multimeter and tested the switch. Switch works perfect. Tested the motor while pushing the switch. Nothing... My problem lies in the CDI. When i popped it open. I realized that the rubber seal was missing and there is some type of yellow goop inside. Is that normal? It was also on the MFD. Should I replace the CDI entirely? Just get the rubber seal and clean up the internals of the CDI? What are some good suggestions? Anything and everything is appreciated.

League City TX
    welcome to the hulk,
    the search engine works pretty good to see past post on a certain subjects,
    Back in the day Polaris put diaelectric grease on everything that had a electrical connection, including connections in the Black electrical box
    On most 2 strokes they are water cooled, so you have fresh water going thru the engine, thru the exhaust and out the muffler,
    and the mufflers do retain water if they are not blown out,

Medina, Ohio, United States