Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

Pump Tunnel Reinforcement Tips

I have 2 GPR's. On one the shoe was properly sealed and bonded to the hull prior to putting the tunnel reinforcement on. On the other ski the shoe was loose as in stock condition.

The ski with the shoe properly sealed prior to pump tunnel reinforcement ended up with the shoe retaining its proper location.

The ski with the loose shoe ended up with the shoe being .100 too far forward. This is the cause of the buck I have been fighting for 6 months.
    The reinforcements were R&D reinforcements. I used 5200 to secure the reinforcements to the tunnel. The hydraulic force of the 5200 pushed everything forward as I tightened the bolts. I suspected this was the problem some time ago but knowing the shoe was bonded in with 5200 I was reluctant to remove it until last night. I destroyed the shoe getting it apart. I did have an extra so no biggie. I am glad I didn't damage the hull.

Everything is properly set now and bonded.

Just a word of caution set and bond the shoe first

Then worry about the tunnel reinforcement.
    Last edited by spud; 01-10-2007 at 11:27 PM.

+1
    Spud,
    glad to hear you found it. Good tip on the shoe placement first.

Consider epoxy next time.

+1
    Mark,

Thats a good idea. That 5200 is very viscous. She's together and looking good now. I can't wait to get back out there.

Both skis have been reinforced so I'll get out the epoxy on the next GPR.

+1
    Oh another thing. You won't have any idea there is a problem until somewheres around 78 mph. So you could be happy as a lark until you go with the big bore.

Good info spud!

+1
    Hi Spud i just finished putting together a Lowell 1390 but yet to dial the ski becuase when the ski hits mid 70s it bounces from nose to tail i am guessing this is what you guys call the buck.(scary)