Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    132
    +1
    7

    300X Electrical Question.

    Does anybody know how to find out where the "Joint Connectors" are specifically located in the wiring harness. The "Wiring Diagram" shows MANY of them, but doesn't indicate their location in the harness itself. In particular I'm looking for "Joint Connector J (Speed Sensor Signal)".


  2. #2
    FullTilt429's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA USA
    Posts
    332
    +1
    6
    Can you elaborate on what for... ? The main connector for the speed sensor is behind the intercooler... as far as a splice goes, Im fairly certain it goes straight to the ECU

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    132
    +1
    7
    The "ELECTRICAL SYSTEM - Wiring Diagram" in the Service Manual shows the Speed Sensor output going to "Joint Connector J" and then splitting to both the "Meter Unit" (display), and the "ECU".

    There are MANY "Joint Connectors" shown in the diagram, and it would be useful/helpful to know where they are located for troubleshooting/modifications...

    BTW: I already queried the "factory", and I'm waiting for their reply/help...

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    down under
    Posts
    645
    +1
    15
    I'm almost certain that the "joint connector" that you are referring to dosen't exist.

    I think it's built into the harness.

  5. #5
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    LA/oc
    Posts
    3,911
    +1
    129
    Quote Originally Posted by eel View Post
    I'm almost certain that the "joint connector" that you are referring to dosen't exist.pl

    I think it's built into the harness.
    Yup x2 ...... The harness is all plugs at the ecu

  6. #6
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Discovery Bay, CA
    Posts
    3,048
    +1
    336
    how about this..... why are you looking for that connector? any problems? i probably cant solve them but waz, fire, and nickjak been around the block they know these things rather well!

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    132
    +1
    7
    Actually I'm not havind any electrical problems... I was just looking for a potential "better" way to connect the Riva SCOM output. The threads I've read so far in reference to installaing the Riva SCOM seem to have a few issues getting the SCOM output connection to seat properly, and stay seated on the ECU connector. What I was thinking is if I could break the sensor output connection going to the ECU at "Joint Connector J", and tap into it there, it might be a more reliable connection. It was just a thought! I have looked at what's easily visible on the wiring harness, and I tend to agree that the most of the connections/splices are probably made, and taped into the harness. My thought was centered around not disturbing the connection(s) at the ECU... Thanks for the interest in helping!

  8. #8
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    LA/oc
    Posts
    3,911
    +1
    129
    Buy the R&D one since it has the propped size wire It's does not have a issue with connection further more it takes less then 10 min to install total.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    132
    +1
    7
    Thanks for the thought about the R&D SCOM... I actually bought the Riva SCOM last year when I bought the JetSki back in late March early April. My plan at that point was to wait until break in/getting used to the JetSki before I went about modifying it. Truth be told, the 300X is plenty of JetSki without the extra MPH. BUT I hate the thought of "leaving anything on the table" when it comes to speed!

    Unfortunately the R&D SCOM wasn't released till much later. Given the extra time to develop, the R&D SCOM is just a little better thought out when it comes to the installation... The R&D SCOM gets "switched AND fused" power from the diagnostic port plug. Where the Riva SCOM has a direct connection to the battery without the benefit of a fuse...

    My plan WAS to try to figure out where ALL the "Joint Connectors" are, and tap into one of them for fused & switched power. Also as I mentioned above, cut and splice into the speed sensor output going to the ECU.

    My plan NOW is to add an inline fuse, and install the Riva SCOM output as directed... AGAIN thanks for the advice/input!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Will this work, electrical question
    By bruinsrme in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-04-2008, 11:17 AM
  2. Domestic Electrical Question
    By Justme in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-09-2008, 07:42 PM
  3. electrical question
    By bacongrease in forum 2-Stroke Performance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-03-2007, 05:12 PM
  4. 95 spx electrical question
    By 95 sl750 in forum 2-Stroke Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-17-2007, 08:51 PM
  5. Electrical question
    By absentx in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-30-2007, 08:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •