Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question Sticky Steering - 2004 RXP

Hey All,

I recently bought a 2004 RXP in what I think is pretty great condition.. very very clean.. but it has one issue. The steering feels very 'sticky'. How smooth should the steering feel??

When I turn the handlebars all the way left, or all the way right, they jam up enough that I need considerable force to turn them back.

I've been told this could be a seized or partially seized (whatever that means) cable. I was quoted AUD $400 to have it replaced (parts + labour), which I think is unreasonable.

I'm no expert, but I've inspected the steering mechanism as far as I can see without pulling anything apart. The cable looks to move quite smoothly in and out of the housing underneath the steering assembly, and is very well lubricated. Somehow I feel the steering is jamming up due to some other part of the mechanism, perhaps where the handle bars turn or the part that the cable is connected to?

If anyone could shed any light on this, it would be much appreciated. I want to have it fixed, but I want to avoid paying $400, or worse, paying $400 when I should be paying much less.

Thanks

Aleks

Hi mate
    I have an rxp that had a steering issue.
    It was the steering cable, these cables build up with salt. There are postings on how to free it up.
    I bought it from a forum member and changed it myself, wasn't that hard really.
    It was wayyyyyyy lower than $400 and easy....

Quote Originally Posted by pandan9 View Post
    Hi mate
    I have an rxp that had a steering issue.
    It was the steering cable, these cables build up with salt. There are postings on how to free it up.
    I bought it from a forum member and changed it myself, wasn't that hard really.
    It was wayyyyyyy lower than $400 and easy....
    Thanks mate!