Preventive Maintenance for Oil Injection

Hello All, newbie here. Just got myself an ’99 Kawa 1100 STX. Seems to be some controversy about oil injection vs. premix. I can see there is credence in both sides of the argument.

My question is not to stir the argument but should I decide to keep the oil injection is there any preventive maintenance I can do to help keep the odds of it working for me?

My oil injection is currently working and I am on the fence about disabling it.

Thanks in advance

+1
    Welcome aboard, waxsworth!

Everybody has an opinion, this is mine. Upgrade the hoses to polyurethane and secure them with stainless steel safety wire so they can't come off. You'll have to bleed the air from the hoses & pump, but it will last many years. The pumps don't fail, but the hoses get old, brittle, and they crack--or they come off. If you're worried about it, replace the hoses every 5 years or so.

Pre-mix is messy, requires you to do arithmetic while at the gas pump or carry more paraphernalia with you, smokes more at idle, and it DOES NOT GUARANTEE YOU WON'T HAVE AN OIL RELATED ENGINE FAILURE! If you convert to pre-mix and one of your carbs get plugged with trash, guess what. The other cylinders keep spinning that engine and you've got one running at thousands of RPM with no oil! You haven't solved anything.

Quote Originally Posted by waxsworth View Post
    should I decide to keep the oil injection is there any preventive maintenance I can do to help keep the odds of it working for me?
    The oil injection system failure is mainly due to EMPTY oil tank.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by meangreenman View Post
    The oil injection system failure is mainly due to EMPTY oil tank.
    I've seen that before!

Years ago, when ALL PWCs were pre-mix, a friend's wife took the kids out to play on their Waverunners. When they got home, he asked her, "You DID mix oil with the gas, right?" "Nooo... Was I supposed to?"