95 Waveraider...I Need help figuring out whats wrong

I am new to jet skis and bought a 95 waveraider. It rides good part of the time but at times it will rev up (and not move) and it sounds almost like a grinding noise somewhere, but if you you rock it side to side and it will slowly snap out of it and go. Does anyone have any idea what I need to fix?

Crystal River Fl
    sounds like your pump or intermediate shaft splines are worn away...youll have to pull the pump to verify.. the idea that your rocking it back and forth till it catches may also indicate a broken /loose intermediate housing ( this would also allow the shaft to wear prematurely as its needs to stay perfectly in line) rocking it may bind it enough to catch and hold till the next jar unlocks it...its also possible(not likely) the impeller shaft is loose and slinding back,engaging when the impeller rotation forces it forward..

x2....rounded the splines off the shaft

Thanks for responding...I have worked on motorcycles since I was a kid, but am new to jet skis. What parts should I order and is there any special tools required to handle this. P.S. Jet ski is in storage this week so will not be able to check until later on this week.

Madison, WI, USA
    You should check it out before you order parts.