Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

2009 Ultra LX surging intermittently.... any input welcome : )

Hello all, My name is Jeremiah and I live in Alaska. I went and test ran my 2009 Ultra LX for the first time today. I bought it used. Its got around 25hrs on it.

Ran great for about 2hrs, then all of a sudden, around 6500rpm the rpms would surge with around 500rpm intervals. No warning lights came on at any time while riding.

The problem would go away momentairly if shut down and let sit for a couple minutes. The surging got worse as i rode back to the harbor. Started happening at all rpms. I had to repeatedly shut down and restart to make it back. Runs PERFECT until it starts surging....

The problem DOES happen with both the yellow and orange keys.

I am an experianced automotive technician, however, ignorant to the electronics and common issues with these specific PWCs.

Any help, similar experiences, or shots in the dark would be very much appreciated!

Thanks and good riding!

Jeremiah

p.s. My friend was riding my other Ultra LX at same time. Both fuel tanks were filled with the same fuel and have similar hours on them. Rules out fuel caused issues.....

Homer, AK, D.F., MEX., Now San Antonio, TX
    +1
    Jeremiah, there are a couple of knowledgable guys probably going to come on and help you. I can't (I'd be guessing when I said "air leak in the fuel system"). I'm down in Homer, where are you riding already? - There's cars on my lake still!

+1
    surging or a miss?

Mark - We rode in Whittier down to the Port Nellie Juan

nicjak - It is surging. started happening in 500rpm ups and downs. As it got worse it was greater rpm swings. I have felt cars do similar things when there was a bad TPS sensor. Do these have throttle position sensors? Think that might be the culprit?

Thanks everyone!

Homer, AK, D.F., MEX., Now San Antonio, TX
    +1
    Cool. Should be nice this time of year. Good luck with your surge.
    BTW, those should be good Wetdog skis...