Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

08 15F Make over

Hi all well I had my 15F paint over and I helped preping, please note I have no paint work experience well It looked good and all but he is the errors I did.
    first we used two stage paint but because of the white we needed to use extra black or a primer.
    So we used primer then we had some metallic blue left over from a car he paint so we used that on top.
    Then the black but ran out and I mistakenly picked up single stage paint. So not sure what happened or when it went wrong but i removed the engine and it chipped the outside of the hull.
    So i figured i'd get all the dust off and sand the area down and do a little spot paint but when I blew the dust off the paint started to flack off .

So that leads me to this thread.

I've read up on this site and found a guy bow who seems to know what he talking about with painting PWC's.
    So I've decided to repaint it with gelcoat.
    So far i've peeled off as much as i could the started to sand it all back done to start back from the begining.
    I'm using so 50 grit as its the only this that can take off the black paint with ease.
    Once its all off I will followe with 150 grit then 220grit and lastly 320 grit.

I've found so far no primer is needed for gelcoat so thats sweet to know.
    I've purchased a quart of Ferro Exterior Gelcoat the Ultra Plus white and a tint that I need to mix it with to get the black and some hardner.
    I'm also thinking of roll and tipping it as I dont have a spray gun of good enough compressor to handle the steady pressure.

So I'm thinking of just dropping the whole little jar of black tint into the quart of gelcoat, the tint is like maybe 6-8 oz of it. Then adding a wax additive to ge the extra shine.
    Not sure how much of the additive to add but I guess or hope someone will advise me as whats best.