Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Checking SC slip (on the motor) - not in FAQ section??

Okay, I know this is a basic and regular thing to check, but I've never done it before. And I always thought there was a FAQ write-up/sticky on this, but I'm not seeing it. I did a search but Im getting threads on the general discussion of checking slip.
    I've never done this before since I ran my SC so long before that I simply pulled it off and sent it to Jerry for a rebuild back in Nov.....over the past 6-8 trips out, I've been getting more and more suspicious that my SC isnt holding the slip settings it had from Jerry.

Which way is easier to check slip....on or off of the motor? I'd prefer to leave it on, but as mentioned, Im not finding a "how-to" sticky that I thought i'd seen in the past.

Thanks,
    sean

+1
    Have you seen these?
    http://www.greenhulk.net/forums/showthread.php?t=78668

http://www.greenhulk.net/forums/showthread.php?t=138822

BTW, you oughta try to make it to the Impros "Blythe Bound Smack Down" on may 19.. Have miles of river & a Buoy course to play on at any time.
    http://www.socalwatercraftclub.com/f...ead.php?t=3108

Thanks for those links....yea Ive been reading through a bunch of old threads. Man, guys are buying $200 torque wrenches and other special tools, just to check slip!!
    No wonder some people simply pull them off and mail to Jerry just for slip services!

I have 2 torque wrenches now...but neither are digital. I dont think I'll be buying a 3rd torque wrench at $200 only to check occassional slip.

So I'm triple-checking some of these threads....I would need a $200 digital torque wrench PLUS $100 in special tools, JUST to check slip????
    I's FAR from needing a rebuild....Just need to check slip and probably have to re-set the slip.