Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    25

    Fish Finder Lowrance Elite 4 - Installation Pics

    I finally found a Lowrance Elite 4 Gold FF/Chartplotter online. I spent some time this past weekend installing in on my GTX. I have to say, it looks real nice on there and its not too big. Personally, I think this is the perfect size.

    As for installation. I cut the glove box top with a dremel and a cutoff wheel. Then I picked up some M3 Stainless steel screws from the hardware store and a package of window screen locks. I used the window screen locks upside down and used the dremel to shave the tab off to my needed height. Then I used foam rubber around the opening in the glove box to seal out the water and make it look like it was installed from the factory. Then I dropped the Elite 4 in the hole, turned the window screen locks and it was tight. I put a small bead of silicon on the inside around the top and bottom of the unit. I didnt want to permanently mount the unit, just in case it needed to be returned for warranty. Now its completely removable and looks perfect.

    I mounted the Transducer in-hull in the factory depthfinder location using 3M 4200 adhesive. Ill give it a try once the weather warms up.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1050119.JPG 
Views:	1600 
Size:	126.9 KB 
ID:	269622

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1050120.JPG 
Views:	544 
Size:	146.0 KB 
ID:	269623

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1050121.JPG 
Views:	820 
Size:	125.7 KB 
ID:	269624
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1050119.JPG 
Views:	1410 
Size:	50.0 KB 
ID:	269621  


  2. #2
    83Gator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    St. Amant, LA
    Posts
    6,019
    +1
    307
    I think that looks real good; great job.

  3. #3
    Nice Job. Installing in the glove compartment like this will definitely lengthen its life, I dont know why so many people mount up the top with the cables and plus exposed.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    25
    I saw yours mounted on flush on your 2012 in one of your videos. I thought about an Elite 5 but I dont think it would have fit my lid very well

    Quote Originally Posted by Jetski Fishing Channel View Post
    Nice Job. Installing in the glove compartment like this will definitely lengthen its life, I dont know why so many people mount up the top with the cables and plus exposed.

  5. #5
    Formerly Ultra250 TN Aquaholic6801's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Old Hickory,Tn
    Posts
    5,446
    +1
    650
    Looks good....I have the Lowrance Mark 4 Fishfinder and Chart Plotter...Mines installed similar minus the window locks....used black silicone .........Ive used it on several trips........still learning some of the functions.....I like the trip set up....logs a lot of info and has a slot for a memory card if you want to download trails, waypoints...fish finder is pretty detailed also....a lot of bang for the $200......

  6. #6
    nitric13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Elizabeth, NJ
    Posts
    136
    +1
    2
    have any pics of exactly where u mounted the transducor?

  7. #7
    Formerly Ultra250 TN Aquaholic6801's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Old Hickory,Tn
    Posts
    5,446
    +1
    650
    Heres how I did mine....I just used a BIG glob of pure silicone....you just have to make sure there are no air pockets.....
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2011-05-14 VXS Depth Finder GPS 004.JPG 
Views:	1464 
Size:	151.2 KB 
ID:	269721  

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    25
    I didnt get a picture of the transducer, but the Sea Doos have a spot in the fiberglass near the rear to adhere the factory depth finder. My GTX didn't have it installed.

    Aquaholic6801, I used 3M 4200. I hope it works...I put a glob on the hull and a glob on the bottom of the transducer and stuck them together. I came back a while later and noticed the adhesive had flowed away from the one side of the transducer. I just left it alone. Fortunately I didnt use the harder 3M 5200. If it doesnt work Ill have to cut it off and try again.

  9. #9
    Formerly Ultra250 TN Aquaholic6801's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Old Hickory,Tn
    Posts
    5,446
    +1
    650
    Yeah as long as there was no air bubbles you should be fine..............

  10. #10
    themarklar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Palm Coast, FL
    Posts
    72
    +1
    1
    Are you guys using your Ski's battery for power? And where in the Hull are you mounting the transducer?

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Waverunner Fish Finder/GPS install - Downscan issues
    By alchik in forum Yamaha Open Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-15-2015, 05:00 PM
  2. 2007 Rxp where to install fish finder/gps
    By Jest_r in forum PWC Fishing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-11-2014, 03:21 PM
  3. Gps/fish finder install questions
    By KJvxr in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-12-2013, 04:38 PM
  4. XSpower intercooler install pic's sticky?
    By engineermike in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-31-2006, 08:41 PM
  5. PWC DEPTHFINDER INSTALL PICS
    By ABBOTT in forum Yamaha How To & FAQs
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-28-2006, 09:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •