Advice for riding in dirty rivers

Hey guys I'm very new at this and so I am wondering how worried I should be about riding in rivers with alot of debris. With the winter snows melting up here in the NW alot of crap comes down the rivers with the higher water levels. I'm talking mainly twigs and branches all the way up to logs. Of course avoid the logs but what about the smaller floating twigs and small branches? What is the likelihood of these things getting sucked in and doing damage to the ski?

Thanks for any experience you can share in this area.

+1
    Just do the best you can go avoid them,
    may have to go for the occasional swim to remove them from the intake grate
    and eventually may need a new wear ring but thats about it.

Big stick may damage the prop etc but would have to be unlucky

+1
    Saturday when I out fishing on the ocean I ran into a giant kelp bed. Oh man that sucked completly clogged up the intake dug it out for about half an hour. Was thinking to myself its to dam cold to go for a swin today

Sounds easy enough. Thanks for the replies. I think I'll stay out of the Willamette until things clear out a bit - way too dirty for my liking..couldn't really get up to speed w/o dodging piles of crap. Knowing that it's more likely to just clog up the intake than get inside and do major damage really helps also. At one point I hit something just under the water that I couldn't see until I was up on it and it was too late to turn; some sort of hard plastic about 2 feet square I think...I heard it hit and felt it a bit but I think it hit the plate so it didn't scratch up the ski. But there are cleaner rivers/lakes to have fun in and just avoid the hassle altogether. Thanks again.

Primary Language: Sarcasm Pony Racer's Avatar
    +1
    I'm working a tool to help remove debri from the impeller for guys/gals in our situation..