Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Polaris Sl 650 Issues

HI Lads

Firstly excuse me if you dont understand me as i'm in ireland and my slang might be a bit strange.

ill introduce myself, i'm a avid jets ski fan and have deen messing arounds on skis for a long time mostly on seadoos and kawasakis (king of skis ) but reacently bought a 92 polaris sl 650 from a friend who bought it in pieces from another, basicly it has been in pieces for the last five years. so after me having it for a year i decided to put it together finally.

being a car technician by trade i've a good grasp on how things work. so i stripped it apart, checked the engine for compression 145psi. stripped the engine apart and found new 0.5mm oversized pistons in her. All internals were in great nick (condition) including the crank, bores and heads. so a new gasket set was put in and the whole lot was put together.

the stator was knackered (burnt out) so i purchased one from ebay along with a matching flywheel and electrical box/cdi. but the lot back together into the ski with new fuel pipes, auto cock thrown out, fuel valve thrown out, clean tank and filter and carbs set to stock settings.

turned it over and with a drop of fuel down the carbs and she fired up. a bit of tweeking and she ran like a dream for the first day.

second day out and the trouble started and its a fueling one (anyone suprised )

when rebuilding i went to the trouble of puting a rebuild kit in the fuel pump, but it is only the single outlet pump as could not find a triple pump on ebay. I also put a restrictor on the return pipe to build fuel pressure, she is bogging down and goes a small bit with a little choke.What ever fiddling with the carbs i do makes no difference i.e. more fuel less fuel.

so with a little taught these are my following options as i think its a fuel supply problem.

SBT do a helper pump kit, is this any good?