I'm back after all these years! Please help!

Hello guys ( and gals)!

I'm finally back on the water after a nasty divorce from a woman who hated the lake. (she had to go) Had to sell my '07 Ultra 250 several years ago, and I just got my hands on a 2001 1100 zxi for cheap that is in great condition with low time. My problem is this - the ski is somewhat hard to start cold out of the water, and "coughs" occasionally (kinda like a backfire) to the point where it will stall the engine out. Took it out on the water for the first time today and noted that I had to hold the rpms at about 1800-2000 through no wake zones to keep it running. Ski hesitated upon nailing the throttle for a few seconds, then took off like a raped ape. Anything over 3000 rpm and throttle response was perfect, with the ski topping out at around 7000 rpm. I ran one full tank of fuel through it (about 8 gallons of 100ll avgas and 5 gallons super unleaded - I'm an aircraft mechanic and I figured the 100ll would help clean any gunk out of the carbs, but I don't have a lot of experience on two strokes). Anyway, when I brought it back to the ramp, tied it up and put the truck/trailer on the ramp, about 3-5 minutes. It would hit very briefly, but would not start. I had to get it to the trailer mainly on the starter. Finally got it started after about 5 minutes of trying after getting it out of the water, with the same coughing results as in the beginning.
    Do I need to pull the carbs and rebuild, and if so where should I purchase the rebuild kit? Ski is totally stock.

Thanks for any and all input, and it's great to be back, both on this forum and in the water!

Tom

Thats the First place i would start..CV Carbs are pricey to rebuild..I believe idle should be set at 1800rpm in the water..I have a 98 ZXI and ditched the CV carbs..Runs way better!!Also if it has the choke still ditch that as well & go with a primer,that will solve your hard start.(probably)But thats a common problem.