+1

Oil and battery light are on constantly

Hello all, this is my first time on a pwc forum. My skis oil and battery light are acting up after years of reliability.
    First of all it's a 1997 seadoo GTI with the 717 rotax engine no mods.

last season about 8months ago, I had rolled it, and righted it correctly, limped to the dock and drained it. There was about 10gallons in it. No lights on or anything sounding/responding Differently. So i said f$&@ it and ran it for about an hour after with absolutely no problems. Took it out a month ago and after I was done and got it to the dock to leave, I noticed the battery and oil lights on. Battery is good. Oil is full.

Anyone got any ideas? Any help is greatly appreciated.

James

+1
    Have you measured the charging voltage while the engine is running? If the system isn't charging properly, then you may get the battery light. The battery voltage without the engine running should be approximately 12.4v or higher for a fully charged battery. While the engine is running, you'll probably be seeing 13+ volts at the battery.

As far as the oil light goes, does your oil tank have a sender unit. I'm thinking that it does and perhaps the sender (or float) has gone bad. I've had to replace 2 fuel senders in my 4 skis. 1 Yami and 1 Sea Doo.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by dannyual777 View Post
    Have you measured the charging voltage while the engine is running? If the system isn't charging properly, then you may get the battery light. The battery voltage without the engine running should be approximately 12.4v or higher for a fully charged battery. While the engine is running, you'll probably be seeing 13+ volts at the battery.

As far as the oil light goes, does your oil tank have a sender unit. I'm thinking that it does and perhaps the sender (or float) has gone bad. I've had to replace 2 fuel senders in my 4 skis. 1 Yami and 1 Sea Doo.