Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Ethanol Sucks

+1

Ethanol Sucks

Yep. Ethanol is garbage. I work in the fuel industry and i can tell you it is a complete joke. Please, with all due respect, no argument is valid for it, so dont even try.That is not what this thread is about anyways.

That being said; With the rising prices of gasoline, especially at marine docks, I have been trying to find the cheapest gas in town. I have a couple of places that are cheaper than any other, but i am concerned with the ethanol content. 10% currently and maybe soon to be 15%. I have always been told that the smaller the engine the worse ethanol is for it, generally. Seems to make sense to me

So what i want to know is; what can we run in the gas tank to help counteract the damaging effects of ethanol?? What is going to be safe to run every time i fill it up??

Yes, i have seen all the ad's and talk of this product and that product. But what really works?? What is really safe??? Is there such a product??

Thanks for any info.

+1
    There are places that sell ethanol free gas but you need to fin out who in your are does. Most of the time the will be at same facilities you can buy race gas out of the fuel pump. As far as any products out their to stabilize or.help with ethanol issue I haven't heard of. Only recommended product I know of that has helped me ethanol/moisture issue was fuel stabilizer.

^I agree. I'm not sure any of those products do much of anything.

I know you said you wanted the cheapest gas possible, but here is a website that lists all of the ethanol free gas stations in the US. Take a look... maybe you have one close by that is relatively cheap.

+1
    I ran 93 pump fuel from 7/11 in my 2006 FX up until the day I sold it. Not a single problem.

Also, I was told by the mechanics that if you fill up your ski at the local gas station and you run the tank out every time, there will be no long term effects. It is only if you let it sit for long periods of time.