Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

transmission drive shaft " R.I.P " on 2000 xpl

2000 seadoo xpl

so during winter i did some work on my ski i re did all the fuel lines and cleaned out every filter, prok F.A, Jetted the carbs. long story short it was 90 out side the other day so i decieded to take out the ski and see how she runs. well ran great all day intill the last run, my 272000154 transmission drive shaft snapped the teeth from the egine and the shaft are all chewed up.

Anyone ever have this happen to them?

How does somthin like this happen?

and is there any write up or how tos on this cause im a ok tech but this looks pretty advance?

is there stronger ones i can buy so this never happens to me again?

+1
    Was there a rubber damper in there when this happened? You have to pull the engine to change that driveshaft.

+1
    The 99+ drive shaft update was a good design and I have run these with twin piped boats making lots of torque and revs through to surf boats that take a hammering and never had one fail . I have had the dampeners give out plenty of times.
    Can you turn the pump and engine freely separately just to rule out that it stopped due to a mechanical fault.
    Did it have the centre snap bushing in place ?
    Was the drive shaft pushed up hard against the coupler on the PTO (with about a 3mm gap ) because if it wasn't you are expecting the teeth to do all the work at the the ends instead of the base which will increase metal fatigue rapidly.
    I have had one do this in a twin pipe set up on a 98xpl due to having too much end play between PTO and Shaft.

The driveshaft comes out through the rear.

+1