Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

newbie here- oil on bottom of hull on 01 gp1200r

hey guys i just picked up a not running 01 gp1200r for 750, all that was wrong with it was the carbs were all clogged up, so i rebuilt them and it runs like a champ. i took it out for the first time today, real windy and choppy out, and it ran nice and strong but when i got home i noticed oil on the bottom of the hull. i am going to take the exhaust off tomorrow to see whats going on, i really dont think an oil line came off because they look all in tact, my theory is the oil pump because when i checked the alignement of it with the throttle when i had it apart it seemed oily, just wondering if you guys have any ideas for me to check when i have it disassembled. i heard it is not common for the pumpps to go, well no way to find out when i have it apart. oh yeah and it only has 33 hours on it so i dont know. thanks guys!

+1
    Premix is peace of mind as long as your the only one mixing. If you keep oil injection find and fix the leak before you ride again.

Quote Originally Posted by mudslanger View Post
    Premix is peace of mind as long as your the only one mixing. If you keep oil injection find and fix the leak before you ride again.
    yeah im starting to lean towards that, but another idea i have is since it was so choppy out i kept on getting on and off the gas do you think that would cause oil to come out bottom of flame arrestors, idk, i just have to wait til i take it apart

+1
    Check the little oil pump vent/return line that goes from the oil pump to the tee above the oil tank. That line is easy not to get plugged into the tee well enough, and will pop out even if wire tied, IF it is not inserted all the way in. I know times 2 about that little error. It will put a good bit of oil in the bottom of the boat.

Quote Originally Posted by LT1GMC View Post