Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

First ski: '94 Waverunner III GP

Hello all. I'm new to both the PWC world and the forum here. I'm just looking for some input from anyone with experience. Thanks in advance for any assistance!

A few weeks ago, as I was hanging out at the local lake, a few buddies and I got to talking about PWCs. One of my friends mentioned that you could get older ones so cheap that he didn't understand why everyone didn't own one. From that point I was searching CL every day just looking for an older ski just to have a little fun on. I'd found a few and was fully prepared to have it at the lake this coming weekend.

However, I first decided to check out all the houses around the lake that had older skis that I felt the owner may come off of for cheap. The first guy I talked to had the WRIII sitting outside. I asked if he would be interested in getting rid of it, and he said, "If you want it, you can have it. That will save me from having to bother with getting it out of the way." So, we loaded it up and hauled it back to my buddy's lake house.

We're going to pick it up this afternoon to try to get it running. I'm just looking for any suggested plans of action specific to this ski.

What I know so far is that the battery is good, the spark plugs were a little dirty but still firing, and nothing seems to be jammed or locked up. I plan to do a compression test, clean the carb up, and replace the fuel filter in the next couple days. Any other suggestions on small-time, easy fixes to try?