Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Unhappy MSX 150 4900 RPM check engine light after leaving fuel line unplugged

Took the ski out today after cleaning the map sensor. Unfortunately I left the fuel line unplugged. It started up for a few seconds and of course ran out of fuel. The fuel was in the hull of the ski. Any was took for ever to get it started again and idling normal. That one cylinder didn't want to fire at first but after a bit of playing it idled smooth. The problem is it wont go over 4900 rmp's and the turbo is release of pressure is loud. The check engine and the red light is on. I tried 2 times unplugging the battery to see if the codes would clear sense it was not misfiring any more. Didnt help once i tried to go.

PLease any advise? Im new to 4 stroke jet ski's. Im hoping its something simple sense really all it did was run out of gas on that one cylinder.

ALso right after we got it started we sucked up a rock while in reverse. Could this rock be causing it to not go fully into forward or something ????

Filled with 97 octane is that ok with a MSX 150?

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    There is a reset sequence for the computer on the Weber engine. I do not recall the details right now but as I recall it involved pulling a main relay or connector (possibly while the engine is running?).

Are you sure there is no other mechanical issue such as a loose turbo hose or torn rubber boot?

I have a MSX 110 that is also limiting the RPM's. "CHECK ENGINE" light is illuminated also. Can't find anyone to diagnose with "DIGITAL WRENCH" software in the area. If you have a reset sequence it would be greatly appreciated.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by rjjet View Post
    ALso right after we got it started we sucked up a rock while in reverse. Could this rock be causing it to not go fully into forward or something ????