Thread: gtx DI or not

gtx DI or not

Hi guys, newbie here. A few weeks ago I purchased a 97 gti with a nice trailer for 2k. In great shape and always garaged and maintained. Took it out the other day and I am very happy with it. I am looking at getting a second ski (3 seater) as well. Don't know how much better a gtx is and would like your help. From reading on this forum, some say the 99 and up is the way to go. And I have also read to stay away from direct injection. So what to do. I have found a 2001 model with di. Should I just get a carburated model? How much better, and or faster is a gtx over a gti? Is the 99 and up hull that much better than a 97? please help. the pwc world is a hell of a lot larger than expected. Thanks

Welcome to Greenhulk! The 2001 GTX DI is a great ski, but can be more expensive to repair when something goes wrong. There is not much difference in hulls between your 97 and the '01 DI. The '01 DI will have a lot more power, acceleration, and top end speed versus your GTI, but burn a lot less gas. The DI's are so fuel efficient that you will be amazed how little gas it burns compared to the carbed skis.

It used to be that it was almost impossible for DIY mechanics to work on the DI skis, but since the Candoopro system was introduced, the average home mechanic can work on them with the same capability as the dealer technicians.

Check out the DI to make sure it runs good on the water, and doesn't throw any codes (maintenance light flashing).

Quote Originally Posted by Sea Dood View Post
    Welcome to Greenhulk! The 2001 GTX DI is a great ski, but can be more expensive to repair when something goes wrong. There is not much difference in hulls between your 97 and the '01 DI. The '01 DI will have a lot more power, acceleration, and top end speed versus your GTI, but burn a lot less gas. The DI's are so fuel efficient that you will be amazed how little gas it burns compared to the carbed skis.