Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    +1

newbie here, 03 gtx SC exhaust??

hi all, i am new here, but been reading for a while, lots of great info on the 4tecs, tons of cool mods to make them go faster!!!
    my first question is for my 03 gtx SC
    the exhaust system is complicated and cluttered. i wanna simplify it big time, after seeing the great shorty boxes and simple pipe jobs here, i know i have to do this for the spring.
    i wanna keep the stock exhaust outlet which is on the same side as the Jpipe, keep the stock #1 waterbox, but eliminate everything else!! theres ALOT of it too.
    is the 03 waterbox the same on the inside as the newer ones??
    my main question is what shape pipe should i run from the waterbox exit to the exhaust thru-hull. it will be probably sorta an upside down "U" with some bends to mate the two ports together. do i need any specific loop higher in the hull? from the looks of other setups here, theres no loop required for water backing up into the waterbox?? can i use rubber hose for the piping or do i need to get a custom bent aluminum or stainless pipe made?? i will have lots of excess rubber hoses when i pull out the stock system.
    also are there any specific waterbox mods i need to do inside the box. if i dont want to shorten it yet, is it still ok internally?? i assume the exit pipe reaches to the bottom of the waterbox for good water evacuation, do i need to cut the baffles?? shorten the inlet pipe inside the waterbox??
    should i just do the "shorty" mod now??
    i am hoping someone who has done the waterbox mods, and custom piped their ski, might have an 03 gtx SC to look at, and make suggestions
    cuz this stock exhaust system is FUGLY!!
    if you check out the microfiche for the 03 gtx sc you will see what i am dealing with!!