Starter Relay 2003 Seadoo GTI LE RFI

Hey guys,

Quick question because I can't seem to find any other information about. How hard is it to replace the starter relay on a 2003 Seadoo GTI LE RFI? I just tried to fire mine up for the lake last Saturday, connected the lanyard..got the beeps, display came up. However when I tried to start all I got was a series of dissapointing 'clicks' that seemed to come from the box where all the wiring is. I was informed by a technician at a local boat shop that it was likely the starter relay.

Is it difficult to replace on your own? Should I have professionals do it? I never had this kind of issue with my PWC before, so no I'm not really experienced in working with the mechanical side of it.

Thanks for any advice!

You may want to charge the battery first - low battery voltage usually makes the relay just click ....

You can test the starter relay (starter solenoid) by jumping across the two big posts with a screw driver...

The relay has a big red battery cable and a big starter cable going to it - you can't miss it - and it is real simple to change, if bad..

Quote Originally Posted by KYHI View Post
    You may want to charge the battery first - low battery voltage usually makes the relay just click ....

You can test the starter relay (starter solenoid) by jumping across the two big posts with a screw driver...

The relay has a big red battery cable and a big starter cable going to it - you can't miss it - and it is real simple to change, if bad..