New to the Waverunner scene. Problem with carbs.

I am new to the pwc scene. I picked up a GP1200 with only 72 hrs. on it, it's the red/black/white color scheme of 1997 but the title says it's a 1998. I have a snowmobile and a motorcycle but this tuning of a Waverunner is a chore. I read forum upon forum and tried to make the apprpriate decisions for set-up. I had bounced back/forth about switching to pre-mix and I just ended up buying new Tygon lines/clamps and sticking with the injection. I know there are bounds of carb posts all over the internet but can someone walk me through a stock carb tune? I replaced the oil lines and thought to go through the low speed side needles. I took out, cleaned and replaced the o-rings in thoughts to start "fresh." Now I can't get it to idle right and I've had "runoff" twice. When I do the start-up, do I need to have the complete air intake assembly on? WIll it affect the ratio that much? The service manual says for the LSS to be 1.25 turns out for #1,2 and 1.125 turns for #3 but I see other sources saying only 1 turn out across the board. That runoff happens because of being lean, would that be because I only have the needles 1 turn out or the top silencer cover off? The thing ran great until I changed the oil lines and o-rings on the LSS. Can someone please tell me if the entire intake silencer has to be in place and what I should do with the LSS/HSS(even though I didn't touch those).

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I really don't want to have to take this to dealer/shop for something that could/seems like it should be an easy fix that I'm just missing. Could these issues be because I don't have in water? I'm trying to test on hose.

Thank you,

Jason