Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

Question Tig welder in Chicago area

Is there anybody in the group in or near Chicago that can do the o2 bung weld on my j-pipe and pressure test it when done?

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by warsawspeedfreak View Post
    Is there anybody in the group in or near Chicago that can do the o2 bung weld on my j-pipe and pressure test it when done?
    I tig weld for a living. If you want to ship it to me here in Morgan City, LA I'd be happy to weld it for you!

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by warsawspeedfreak View Post
    Yep, send a pm forum member: speed_freak_039A, Nick. He lives in plainfield and he does at great job at tig welding, many of us have used him for some of our projects

Quote Originally Posted by bruceg View Post
    I tig weld for a living. If you want to ship it to me here in Morgan City, LA I'd be happy to weld it for you!
    Hey Bruce, I have a general question for you about these J-pipes. I am a pretty accomplished TIG welder, (I have a Miller Syncrowave 350 setup), but would hesitate to weld the '05+ J-pipes, and wonder how people are doing it.

Just to clarify, the 2004 pipes are stainless, which is a piece of cake to weld. However, the 2005+ ones are Inconel, which is a bitch to weld on a good day. Is there any special rods or prep that would ensure consistent results with these Inconel pipes?

+1
    I've never had to weld Inconel as 100% of all the TIG welding I do is stainless and mild steel. However, from what people have told me some of the main things to keep in mind is you don't need much heat at all to weld it. Probably 1/2 if not less than what you would use for stainless. Also, using as big a diameter cup as possible so you get good gas shielding, and keep your tip as close to the weld as you can.
    As far as rods, I'm pretty sure inconel filler rods exist. However, you'll need to know what grade of Inconel it is the J Pipe is made of.
    Like I said, I've never personally welded it.