Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

1997 polaris slt 780 pump wont turn

I am new to this site and am glad that i found it..i just bought a 1997 slt 780 in tip top shape for a great price and just got her home..This is my first time owning a ski but i am very familiar with 2 strokes ( i have a cr250, rm 250,& kx 85)..when i went to start it the motor wants to turn but something in the back is froze up and isnt allowing to turn..the guy i got it from said a mechanic said the worm screw is locked up..is that something that is hard to fix and how much is the part? i am very mechanically inclined and can do it myself but would really love some help because i know there are alot of people on here who know these like the back of their hand..please let me know where i should start and thanks in advance..

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by theskindoctor View Post
    I am new to this site and am glad that i found it..i just bought a 1997 slt 780 in tip top shape for a great price and just got her home..This is my first time owning a ski but i am very familiar with 2 strokes ( i have a cr250, rm 250,& kx 85)..when i went to start it the motor wants to turn but something in the back is froze up and isnt allowing to turn..the guy i got it from said a mechanic said the worm screw is locked up..is that something that is hard to fix and how much is the part? i am very mechanically inclined and can do it myself but would really love some help because i know there are alot of people on here who know these like the back of their hand..please let me know where i should start and thanks in advance..
    You can start by removing the jet pump by unbolting the 4 long bolts holding the nozzle to the wear ring. Once you pull it out, you can inspect the pump bearings and impeller for seizure. The term "worm screw" doesn't apply here.. The motor is directly connected to the impeller via a straight drive shaft with splined ends. See these diagrams for more details: