Thread: SHO Pump Tunnel

+1

SHO Pump Tunnel

Hey guys, noob here to the PWC world. I just bought a 2009 FX SHO with 18 hrs on it. I had it looked over at the local Yamaha Dealer and they said it's in excellent condition. My question is I've been reading about this pump tunnel cracking issue on the Yamaha's. Is this only from modding the ski or is this happening to bone stock ski's ? I don't jump wakes or do any ocean riding, just mainly rivers and lakes, do I have to worry much about this issue ?

Thanks

+1
    do I have to worry much about this issue ?

Just, don't crank down too hard on your rear tie-down straps - just tight enough to keep the rear of the ski from bouncing on the trailer when you tow. FZR/S setup is different than FX, there's a bit more to it on that platform and that hull seems more prone to cracking.

+1
    If it's stock or mildly modded, you don't have anything to worry about. Like Kelly said, don't over-tighten the rear straps. They should just be snug, not cranked down.

+1
    Thanks guys

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by Kelly_A View Post
    do I have to worry much about this issue ?

Just, don't crank down too hard on your rear tie-down straps - just tight enough to keep the rear of the ski from bouncing on the trailer when you tow. FZR/S setup is different than FX, there's a bit more to it on that platform and that hull seems more prone to cracking.
    Quote Originally Posted by 64physhy View Post
    If it's stock or mildly modded, you don't have anything to worry about. Like Kelly said, don't over-tighten the rear straps. They should just be snug, not cranked down.