Question Help troubleshooting propulsion issue

I'm sorry if this has been posted before, I've looked all over and never found a true answer to help my problem. I'm new to the PWC world and finding to be a little more trouble than ever to find help in the local area so I'm turning to the Internet world.

I bought 2 jetski's on last Friday, 1 was suppose to be water ready and the other was suppose to be just a shell. After looking at it, I've found the water ready one was not really water ready. It is a 96 Seadoo SPI and it wouldn't start. The guy knocked off some money and said it was just a starter, other than that it was fine. After researching, i found the battery was actually dead with 2 volts. I replaced the battery and it turned over like a champ, no problems turning over but it still wouldn't start. I drained all the gas as it smelt bad and was yellow, but my problems still continued as it seemed it was getting no gas. I went on a search looking for help in the local area to clean the carb but found I have to travel at least an hour to get some help which was 2 1/2 weeks behind.

As I was desperate to get on the water, I decided to take apart the jetski and clean the carb my self. I found the jet plugged and the filter is clogged. I cleaned everything and put it back together. I turned it over and it started just fine now.

I dropped it in Lake Michigan on Monday and idled through our long harbor to Lake Michigan. Once I made it out, I hopped on the throttle to not go any where fast. I would have to say i hit a top speed of 10 mph. I could hear the motor rev up just fine and didn't seem to stutter. I turned around and i could see a trail of water being moved but I still didn't go anywhere.