Thread: 96 GTI

96 GTI

I Bought a '96 GTI---Ran like a banshee for about an hour on the water. Then bogged down. I have read the thread(s) about changing out fuel lines,cleaning carbs and fuel selector (all great stuff)

BUT- I had a mobile marine mechanic come out and service after running it on the lake. I explained the problem. He did the cursory carb adjustment/ fuel filter clean out/ etc. It ran great outta the water. Then last weekend took to lake, ran like a banshee for an hour then bogged down.

I called him back and now he says probably control box. Is that realistic? Should I cut my losses and tell this guy to take a hike? I haven't changed fuel lines, etc yet. When I told him that I heard the gray lines/carb rebuild & selector clean sound like they need to be done, he said he can tell that the fuel lines are ok. hmmm.

Any advice? Thanks- Bob

C'mon---hit up the newbie here.

+1
    Get a new mechanic.....those fuel lines are proven to clog up the carbs. Do a search and clean the fuel system.....and rebuild carbs then come back and post results.

Quote Originally Posted by surferd15 View Post
    Get a new mechanic.....those fuel lines are proven to clog up the carbs. Do a search and clean the fuel system.....and rebuild carbs then come back and post results.
    x2

I just replaced the gas lines and did a carb rebuild on my 200 GTI. You will be very happy after you do this

This is how I run a jetski shop in the desert nmpeter's Avatar
    +1
    x 23 (the number of fuel line replacements/carb rebuilds I did last season). While the mobile mechanic knows his stuff..he doesn't know much if any jetski specific stuff. Typical "use ether" to get the ski started rather then fix the real problem. Once you've gotten into a ski with the green goo, you don't bother doing anything with a ski that has those lines..until they are changed out. Over the last 4 years mroe and more people that call me know about that issue from doing some cursory research