Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

951 engine ticking

Hi All, I'm new to both PWC's and this forum. I have a 2000 GTX (carb) with an engine that is making what I think is an odd ticking sound. When I bought it the ski had a damaged wear ring which I've replaced. I thought the damaged wear ring was responsible for the ticking sound (impeller hitting part of the damaged wear ring) but i'm still getting the ticking sound. With the seat on i can barely hear it, but with the seat off its fairly loud. I've found a video on YouTube of someone else's engine that sounds the same as mine.

UPDATED --- This is a video of my rave valves pulled and engine running for a couple seconds:

I've been told these engines are loud and the ticking is normal, I thought someone here might be able to confirm or deny if this ticking is normal.

Last edited by PabsCDN; 06-21-2012 at 08:23 PM. Reason: New Video

After owning a pair of 1999 GSX Limiteds with the 951 and rebuilding three 951s, I can only offer you bad news. If it is loud, it is most likely the 951 "death rattle." Pull out the spark plugs and power valves and take a look at the sides and tops of your pistons. First time a motor blew the crank/rod bearing came apart and punched a hole in the case. Another motor died due to a gummed up carb filter, and the other from what appeared to be water ingestion. All developed a knock/tick... These motors are glass so make sure your carbs are clean, rubber flaps above the intake horns, and fuel selector valve is flowing well.

You can see quite a bit of the pistons with the rave valves removed, so I would check those out first.

Not normal. At the very least you're looking at a top end rebuild.

Thanks for the reply! Sounds like i might be sitting on a time bomb I'm not sure how to gauge whether it is loud or not. Basically with the seats off it sounds somewhat loud to me ... but with the seats on its barely noticeable. I will pull the plugs and rave valves tonight after work and report back.