Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

yamalube substitute

Im new to this and was just wondering if there is a safe and less expensive substitute for yamalube for my 03 gp1300r

Resident Coffee Addict Oshawapilot's Avatar
    +1
    How much are you paying for your Yamalube?

Many of us run Amsoil with excellent success, assuming you want to stay synthetic, which in the realities of today's ethanol polluted gas, is a good idea. Around here the Amsoil HP injector is notably cheaper than Yamalube.

If you want to go with a regular Dino oil, pretty much anything that adheres to Outboard 2-cycle oil standards (designed for injection) will do fine - just take note that some of them *stink* when burned and youre puttering along at low speed so be prepared.

Where is a good place to get Amsoil??

Im payin about $35 a gallon here in South Carolina. im just wondering if there is a cheaper option being as i go thro about a gallon ever 4 tanks of gas

i use pennzoil semi synthetic xlf. About $17 at walmart

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by littlea View Post
    Im payin about $35 a gallon here in South Carolina. im just wondering if there is a cheaper option being as i go thro about a gallon ever 4 tanks of gas
    I'm paying about $40 for a gallon of Amsoil up here, so that wouldn't constitute any savings, but I do value the quality and synthetic nature of the Amsoil so it's worth it to me.

I do know that some people pay exorbitant prices for the manufacturer branded oil up here, sometimes upwards of $50-$60 a gallon, so that was why I asked how much you were paying – the Amsoil may have constituted a savings.

Although the synthetic verses dinosaur oil debate will continue forever, there is one thing that's not debatable - synthetic oils are more resilient against wash-away on your cylinder walls if you end up with any water in your gas, something that happens all too often now with the new ethanol gasses that we are pretty much all forced to buy.

+1