Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Best bang for the bucks mods for 2012 VXR

I’m new to the Hulk and PWCs in general. I have decided on a getting a new 2012 VXR. I have some random questions I need some input… I’m a newbie at modding pwcs, but am really hands on…

1. When I first rode the VXR I noticed that in rougher water, 2-3’ waves (on a lake), it seems to come un hooked. All the research I’ve done leads me to think I need to get a Riva SS intake grate. Will the SS intake grate help with keeping the waverunner hooked up?
    2. Is it worth it to get a pump seal kit for the Riva SS grate? And what will the pump seal kit do or help prevent?
    3. What other simple mods can I do to increase the hole shot and acceleration? I’m not really concerned about gaining top speed, 65-67mph is fast enough for me. Anti-cavitation cone?

Any other suggestions or opinions appreciated?

Gateway Tone

+1
    Welcome to the forum and the ski. Great platform you got, I think. I just bought a 2012 VXS a month back or so.

Before we talk mods, what are your riding conditions like?

No matter where you ride, do the intake manifold upgrade---- it removes the restrictive "ribbon" and replaces it with an aluminum insert which allows up to 40% more airflow into the engine.

It noticably improves throttle response and gives you a little more top speed.

Both Riva and R&D make the replacement inserts---IMO, the R&D one is a better design.

+1
    +1 on the R&D

+1
    You can pretty much browse thru the last couple pages of 4 strokes and get all the VXR goodness your heart desires...

Check out the Greenhulk, Acradabra, 1200stx builds and see the basics of what the mods will do.. It is a fine machine in stock form. As for the riva grate.. Feedback ia starting to come in and Jarrett is going to test on a stocker for us purdy quik.

Allll right giggity

+1
    What's the diff in the Riva and R&D intake piece?