Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Saving the Manuals every day.. TheBlueMartin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Pure Michigan
    Posts
    488
    +1
    1

    Twin engine hour meters

    Has anyone set up hour meters on twin engine boats? I bought a pair of 2" hour meters for mine, but I can only put one in the empty dash hole for it. I was wondering if anyone had any good ideas around this?


  2. #2
    maybe mount both gauges in the engine compartment. or use a commercial tiny tach or hour meter of that size, one for each engine...
    I`m considering doing the same thing.
    I have an inactive depth gauge (not hooked up) in that gauge hole, will most likely swap that out for a battery gauge...

  3. #3
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    The Atl
    Posts
    3,561
    +1
    578
    Why do you want hour meters when the boat has them in it??? If you add them now, they will be inaccurate with the hours of the boat

  4. #4
    Saving the Manuals every day.. TheBlueMartin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Pure Michigan
    Posts
    488
    +1
    1
    I know it's not a perfect system, but I just rebuild both jet pumps over the winter with new impellers, wear rings, ect...and rebuilt the carbs, replaced fuel lines/filters, ect...

    At least now I can start keeping track of how many hours I have on the this part of the rebuild for future reference, although this makes me think only one hour meter is good enough, since its somewhat indifferent now.
    It popped into place easily:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	600345_10151073355075948_1109185515_n.jpg 
Views:	394 
Size:	153.3 KB 
ID:	276362

    I still need to wire it in. It runs on 12v, and I dont wan to hook it to the tether since it can be left on without the engines running. Any ideas on how to wire it?

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    204
    Quote Originally Posted by Tiny View Post
    Why do you want hour meters when the boat has them in it??? If you add them now, they will be inaccurate with the hours of the boat

    I just got BRP to tell me the actual number of hours on the engine computer and I ran my hour meter for that length of time to roll over the actual number of hours. Now my hour meter is accurate although it was not original to the boat.

    Not a big hurdle to overcome.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Can the engine hour meter be reset?
    By bryanw80 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-19-2014, 11:05 AM
  2. Engine Hour Meter
    By GSXRGRIZZ in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-29-2014, 10:12 AM
  3. Dead hour meter on '97 GTX
    By KevinS in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-14-2007, 08:46 PM
  4. Hour meter
    By mysilvstang in forum Sea Doo Sport Boats
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-30-2007, 03:31 PM
  5. Hour meter
    By 05gtxsc in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-30-2006, 05:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •