Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

gp1200 has no spark

Hello all im a newbie to the jetski word just purchased a 97 waverunner gp1200 earlier this week and am clueless. lol. To start out i bought it with engine out for a starter replacement. Well i got the engine in an everything hooked up not the best of my knowledge but have no spark. Could someone point me in a direction to start with? thanks

+1
    do you have a service manual? Do you have all the stator/magneto wires all hook up inside the electrical box? If you do, then refer to the service manual for resistance testing the stator as it is one of the most common causes of no spark on this ski.

Just to add I took my meter an checked the stator an I'm getting a reading from it. But what should it be can't find that info anywhere?

Quote Originally Posted by Cutlass View Post
    do you have a service manual? Do you have all the stator/magneto wires all hook up inside the electrical box? If you do, then refer to the service manual for resistance testing the stator as it is one of the most common causes of no spark on this ski.
    No I don't have one but looks like I'm gonna have to download me one. What a gd place to get one from?

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisal1234 View Post
    Just to add I took my meter an checked the stator an I'm getting a reading from it. But what should it be can't find that info anywhere?
    Its in the service manual in chapter 7 (electrical systems).
    Your reading depends on what you're testing. the 3 pulsar coils should read 248 to 372 ohms, the charge coils - 172 to 258 ohms for one and 656 to 984 ohms for the other

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisal1234 View Post
    No I don't have one but looks like I'm gonna have to download me one. What a gd place to get one from?
    Lol. you must have posted that while I was typing. PM sent.