Bottom Paint - What needs to come off or out?

I have a 1997 Kawasaki 1100 STX and when I bought it I was a total newb and did not check out the bottom of the jet ski. The bottom of my STX looks like a crime scene!
    I can see that someone at some point repainted the bottom because what ever crap they used is falling off.
    What I want to do is sand, repair, prime, and re-paint my STX but since we are talking about the bottom and not the top of this heavy mamma I'm not sure how to go about getting to the bottom.
    Do I just get a stand and have some of my buddies try and flip it over onto a stand or do I need to remove the motor first?
    I guess that's my main question, do I need to remove my motor to repaint to bottom of my jet ski.

Thanks for any information you guys can give in advance.

More searching and I'm guessing that I will have to remove the motor.

Not a lot of tips on what needed to be removed but lets try another question.
    What kind of stand, if any, do I put the ski on to paint it"

Two things:
    1. The bottom hull is NOT painted on 1100 STX. It's gel coat from the factory.
    2. Use a hoist with a couple of rail hooks to hang the ski to paint the hull not the stand.

Quote Originally Posted by meangreenman View Post
    Two things:
    1. The bottom hull is NOT painted on 1100 STX. It's gel coat from the factory.
    2. Use a hoist with a couple of rail hooks to hang the ski to paint the hull not the stand.
    But it looks like paint?
    lol, I know it's gel coat but I'm thinking whoever painted the bottom just used regular paint so I won't be doing that.
    As far as the Hoist with Rail Hooks I assume that means that I will be painting above my head. Never done that before, does Gel Coat blend pretty easy?

Thank for the info MGM

+1