Newbie questions 1.8l vs. 1.1l?

Hello. I'm new to pwc's and leaning toward Yamaha, 2011 or 2012. I like the models with the cruiser seats. I'm looking for low maintainence, high reliability, and a good all around family fun machine that holds three passengers well and tows well. I don't think that I want to deal with a super charger and will likely not be modding. Use will be calmish fresh water. Rough water would be a very rare occurance. I have a question about towing water skiers. Will any of these machines tow a 250+ lb adult water skier? If not I guess I might as well save some cash and go with a 1.1l VX Cruiser. Or if the 1.8 makes it possible, then it would be worthy of consideration. Thanks in advance.

Quote Originally Posted by wengr View Post
    Hello. I'm new to pwc's and leaning toward Yamaha, 2011 or 2012. I like the models with the cruiser seats. I'm looking for low maintainence, high reliability, and a good all around family fun machine that holds three passengers well and tows well. I don't think that I want to deal with a super charger and will likely not be modding. Use will be calmish fresh water. Rough water would be a very rare occurance. I have a question about towing water skiers. Will any of these machines tow a 250+ lb adult water skier? If not I guess I might as well save some cash and go with a 1.1l VX Cruiser. Or if the 1.8 makes it possible, then it would be worthy of consideration. Thanks in advance.
    You can never have too much power...I have a 160hp FX HO and it pulls skiers just fine (I too didn't want any Supercharger issues and wanted good gas milage). The 1.8 are good engines, plus the resale will always be better with the 1.8

Just look online for a used 1.8 and save yourself some $$ (Just a side opinion, but jetski's will never pull skiers very well, the sdie to side movement will jerk the ski a bit, it's a rather uncomfortable riding experiance, pulling tubes on the other hand is a blast..)