2003 SEADOO GTX SUPERCHARGE, HITTING 8000 RPM and only 59-60 MPH?? HELP

I have just bought a 2003 GTX SC and it is hitting 8000+ Rpm topping out and only 58-60 mph topping out... What could be the problem, if there is a problem...I have not used a gps to test actual speed but i am going to do so this weekend... Could it be the prop that is on it?

I am new to the seadoo world but I am trying, just need alittle help! !

Thanks guys!!

That sounds a little high in the rpm range? has it been modified? the stock ecu on the 03's limits it at 7600 rpm, stock they are only good for about 60 mph, but if your on the limiter it may be your prop or wear ring? is there a visible gap between them, you shouldn't realy be able to see a gap if you shine a torch up the exit nozle end, but the only real way is to get a set of feeler gauges and measure the gap between. thats my 2 cents worth hope it helps you out.

I rode it again on the 4th and it was running fine... 7500+ Rpm at 58- 60 Mph... the only thing on take off it had a little bit of a pop or stutter not the motor but sorta like it wasnt hooking up. is that what people mean by cavatation and the wear ring being bad? Just trying to maintain this seadoo since i have just bought it.
    Thanks For The Help!!!

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by jlilla815 View Post
    I rode it again on the 4th and it was running fine... 7500+ Rpm at 58- 60 Mph... the only thing on take off it had a little bit of a pop or stutter not the motor but sorta like it wasnt hooking up. is that what people mean by cavatation and the wear ring being bad? Just trying to maintain this seadoo since i have just bought it.
    Thanks For The Help!!!
    You most likely have a plastic jet pump on it. they are known to do this.
    Replace it with a metal one and that should fix the issue.

+1
    yes that is cavitation, engine revving high , but not pushing any water.