Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

yamaha pwc ran aground...

Well I haven't even had these things a week (2012 yamaha vx deluxe with maybe 2 hours on them) and I ran one around the other day. Embarrassed as I have been using these water ways for 10 years. IT wasn't enough to stop the ski, IT was maybe in 5 inches of water. Im just worried about how much sand I sucked up through the impeller. Our water is clean, no rocks or seaweed, but I know sand had to go through the impeller. It seemed to run fine, it vibrates a little more, but I may have just been paying attention more because Im worried about it. But WE took it right home, I flushed them both out with salt away and noticed my one still pees out the side port, and this one does not. So Im left with what do I check to make sure everything is ok? Dealer doesn't have time to look at it for almost 2 weeks and It would really suck to be off the water that long. Thanks guys!
    Last edited by rollin thunder; 07-05-2012 at 04:45 PM.

+1
    Well getting sand into your prop once or twice won't do anything but if you do it repeatedly then it will eventually start eating away at the prop. On the issue with water not coming out of the pisser, I would take the ski to the local ramp put just the pump alone in the water and see if it water is coming out the ports. Also give it a good rev to blow out anything that may have gotten stuck in the cooling lines.

Quote Originally Posted by Waterholics View Post
    Well getting sand into your prop once or twice won't do anything but if you do it repeatedly then it will eventually start eating away at the prop. On the issue with water not coming out of the pisser, I would take the ski to the local ramp put just the pump alone in the water and see if it water is coming out the ports. Also give it a good rev to blow out anything that may have gotten stuck in the cooling lines.