Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

2001 GTX issues or normal?

Hello all.

I have been creeping here since October 2011 and finally decided it was time to register. Around September of last year I gave $1500 for a 50hr 2001 GTX complete with trailer and cover.

Here it is with the G/F on it.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	297408_581705577375_1286566696_n.jpg 
Views:	184 
Size:	37.6 KB 
ID:	276456

The reason we gave so little is that the ski had sat for 3-4 years covered in a warehouse. When the owners decided they wanted to get it ready for summer they were hit with a $2000 estimate from the local stealership. Said it needed a fuel pump, new fuel lines, battery, summerization, and a bunch of other mess. I got it home, drained the fuel, and put in a new battery and rode it for about 6 hours. However, it always had a bog down low and made this weird popping (bopbopbop) sound under light throttle. It would also foul out plugs in about 6 hours. The ski still ran 58-60 on the dreamometer.

So as the winter came upon us I went ahead and swapped the grey lines out. When memorial day came upon us it started to run worse after 6-8 hours of riding. It got to the point to where you had to choke it to leave from idle. I was very busy so I took it to a marine shop who had been in the area for 18 years for a carb rebuild. Well this weekend we put about 6 more hours on it and I noticed a few issues with it. I was hoping you guys could help me out.

- The ski makes that popping/breaking up sound around 2-3000rpm (bopbopbop), but clears out up top (Doesn't seem like a misfire).
    - Coming off of throttle it always makes that same gurgle it makes around 2-3000rpm.
    - The plugs look much better but I noticed the front plus is a little more "lean" than the other.
    - There seems to be a dead spot down low and doesn't seem to be as brutal in power. However I still saw 60mph in chop.