Newbie here 97 SLT 780, shut off after hr straight..HELP !!!!

Just purchased a 97 Polaris 780 SLT, and when i say newbie I mean NEWBIE. I know nothing about these things at all, the wife wanted one and I said ok, lets see what we can find.. Engine has less than 12 hrs of ride time on it, was completely rebuilt from bottom up, also has new motor mounts, new prop, all new cables, new plugs, only thing is it has ena everstart battery in it. Well i took it out on the river yesterday and it started right up, rode around for about 20 minutes and decided to dock it at my mother in laws place, as i slowed down and let of throttle it did not want to idle, it just died, once i restarted it and got it in reverse it died again. Im not exactly how sure of how good the battery is. But now to the main reason im posting. After we set off again we were running for maybe like an hr straight. I was looking down at the gauge and watching the RPM and MPH. after i hit 40 MPH i noticed that the reading just went back to a still image of 00.0, but the rpms continued to work, about 5 mnutes after that at full throttle the engine just cut right off. i tried restarting to no avail, all i got was a loud click. I waited about 5 minutes and tried again and it turned over for like 2 seconds and died. I also tried running the bilge pump and i could not even here it engage. I waited another 10 minutes or so and tried to start again and it turned over and fired for roughly about 5 sec, so i pushed throttle and it just stalled completly. After setting for lil bit longer i tried again and all it did was click loudly. so i got towed in and back on trailer and i took it back home. we did find that the clock displkay was still lit and that the bilge pump would work but it did not sound as loud as it had previously before we took it out. And when i tried engaging the ignition it was just a real faint click. So we looked at battery and found that positive terminal was about a full turn loose.