Proper way to start up a 2000 kawasaki ultra 150

Hey yall, hope you can answer an easy question I have but can't seem to find the answer to. I am new to jet ski's and recently purchased a 2000 kawasaki ultra 150, took it out on the lake and it had some problems going past 55mph. I replaced the fuel filter and spark plugs and did a compression test (everything was fine) and I think I found the problem when I was reading some random info. On the left side of the ski is the choke right? Im a complete moron when it comes to anything with an engine. So the proper way to start it up on the lake is with the choke in the middle or on position and then once it has been running turn it to the off position right? In my driveway when I was testing it out with the hose hooked up it started perfect in the middle position then when I turned it to on, it shut off. When I turned it too off, it kept running and sounded smooth. So anyone who knows the exact way to start up the ski when its in the water please help me out and save me the embarresment at the boat ramp! Thanks.

Boca Raton, FL
    On the left side of the ski is the choke. Upon initial start you need to turn it to the on position. Once it tuns over, turn the choke off. It may die out on you. Leave the choke in the off position and restart it. You should be good to go at this point.

Always initially start your ski out of the water before you launch it. It is less drag on the motor and easier to start. Out of the water, perform what I said above. When you start it back up in the choke off position give it a few revs and then shut it off. Never run the motor more than 15 seconds out of water. After this is completed your ready to launch the ski.

Remember the proper sequence when your running the ski on the hose.
    1- Start the ski
    2- Once the ski is running turn the hose on but only slightly till water just dribbles out of the pisser.
    3- Turn the hose off
    4- Give the ski a few blips to blow out excess water.