Four stroke maintainence

I just purchased a new ski, 2012 gti. This is my first time owning a four stroke so it is much different than what I am used to.

If I get water in the engine compartment,how do I make sure that I do not blow a piston? Should I remove spark plugs and crank the engine?

Can I spray the engine down with water to clean the salt water?

May be stupid questions, but a lot of the ski is electronic now so I do not want to destroy the electronics. I'm used to carrying a rachet with me when I had two stroke
    please let me know if there is anything else that I should know.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeysso View Post
    I just purchased a new ski, 2012 gti. This is my first time owning a four stroke so it is much different than what I am used to.

If I get water in the engine compartment,how do I make sure that I do not blow a piston? Should I remove spark plugs and crank the engine?

Can I spray the engine down with water to clean the salt water?

May be stupid questions, but a lot of the ski is electronic now so I do not want to destroy the electronics. I'm used to carrying a rachet with me when I had two stroke
    please let me know if there is anything else that I should know.
    Shouldn't have to worry about the water coming in as the bailers will pull most of anything that comes in fairly quickly. I would spray the engine and EVERYTHING within the hull down with Fluid-Film. It will put a protective layer on the engine and will RESIST corrosion. No need to spray any water into the hull.....

I would however spray the outside with water and wipe down with a chamois after each use.