Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Quick question

+1

Quick question

The more I get into fabbing up my own FF exhaust, the more I'm wondering how ocean water doesn't fill up your exhaust and find its way back into your engine. I mean it's a big open hole in your hull. I've googled it and searched around but still no deffinately answer. Remember guys I'm new to water craft so take it easy on me....lol

+1
    Gravity and the waterbox would be my best guess..

+1
    I figured the water box had something to do with it, but then I saw a ski with no waterbox. Is there some kind of one way valve in front of the waterbox ?

+1
    I've been wondering the same thing because I have been considering a through hull exhaust. I thought the idea of drilling a big whole in the back of the ski was a sure way to get water into the exhaust and engine but now I see the stock setup has a big hole also. What is the function of the waterbox and how does is work? Is it to keep water from flowing back into the engine?

+1
    To my best understanding, the waterbox is used to muffle the exhaust noise and also to cool the exhaust gases before they exit the ski.

+1