Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

aluminum washers on RXT supercharger?

Hi folks,

Brand new to the forum here. I'm looking at purchasing a 2005 RXT this week and I've read the rebuild thread and the bad stories of the supercharger failing. In my quest to try to find a well cared for RXT on the market with minimal if any problems, I have a question. I found a 2005 RXT with 98 hours and its in near showroom condition. The current owner is the 2nd owner and has serviced the ski regularly. He tells me he has paperwork showing the supercharger had the ceramic washers replaced with aluminum ones but the actual supercharger was not rebuilt. I'm new to all this but I was under the impression that the washers should be titanium and the supercharger rebuilt with new bearings etc. Should I be concerned? Any comments or thoughts are appreciated.

Thanks,

Jay

Welcome to the forum! The charger should be completely rebuilt at the 100 hour mark, do the reciepts say whay kind of washers were installed? Seadoo does not make a metal washer for charger shafts that are 07 and older. When rebuilding the charger it will be done to 08+ specs.

To answer your question, as long as the washers that are in there are still holding you should be fine, but you will need to consider rebuilding the charger or replacing it with an x-charger in the near future to be safe. To check the washers, remove the intake hose from the airbox going in to the supercharger and stick your hand in there and see if the impeller turns, if it spins freely the washers are gone, if there is resistance there are still in tact. With good washers you will be able to turn over the engine by turning the charger impeller.

+1
    at 98 hours it would be due for a rebuild anyway, so long as its not lost the washers it should be fine.

+1
    Hi,