Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Seadoo 2012 GTR 215 VS. Yamaha VXR

So our 2008 Seadoo speedster 200 D.E.S.S. system has concked out on us. This has been the last straw for my father. We have decided to fix the boat and then trade it in for a PWC. Now my father likes the Yamaha VXR and I like the GTR 215. Now I would be extremely happy and grateful for either ski, but I must admit I would prefer the Seadoo. Now my father likes the Yamaha because of the reliabilty, simplicity, and that it has no Super Charger.

What are the good and the bads of the two PWCs?

P.S. I only 15 and this is my first time doing this, so an advanced sorry for if I did anything wrong.

+1
    I own the Yamaha VXS (similar to VXR) and have owned several SeaDoo RXPs (similar to GTR 215) in the past. It looks like the SeaDoo gives you more for the money, but does have that supercharger that will require some additional maintenance costs. It looks like the VXR is a little smaller and lighter which typically equates to more playful. I suspect the performance will be pretty similar on each. That's a tough call. I personally like not having to worry about superchargers anymore with my VXS.

How are you going to be using it? How many riders? What kind of water?

For this via google:

http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=541922

3. +1 by:

Thank you for posting.

The jetski will be used in large bay and very occasionally in the Gulf of Mexico. So it should see anwhere from smooth water to medium chop.

For the most part it will be me and maybe 1 passenger riding it. My sister and her boyfriend will also be using it. So 2/3 of the time it will be cruising around and 1/3 racing around.

Now after reasearching it looks like seadoo has been able to work out most problems with their superchargers. You still must do the 100 hour rebuild, but some people are saying that the new models with last to 200 hours???????

Is it true that the SeaDoo superchargers have become pretty reliable?

+1
    Trmacchi,