Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

new with issues...97 sltx 1050

im new to most of this, i have a little experience with 2 stroke dirtbikes but not much with multi cylinders and carbs. I just got the ski and was told the cdi and stator upgrade has been done, the oil pump and tank are gone...my issue is with the MFD..i am getting the flashing red light and alternating OIL and HOT message, this starts even before the ski has been started, i have read several posts here and disconnected the blue wire to the oil sender and put a 33 ohm resistor between the blue and black terminal, no change, undid this and hooked the sender back up and checked it (its reading 33 ohms with the float ziptied up) made no difference, I know this has been discused on here but my 16 year old son is dying to ride and i would realy like to know whats going on before I let him take it out, any and all help is greatly appreciated, hopefuly I will learn enough in time to be a little help to some in the future.

Banned User
    +1
    I have seen that happen on a few MFDs. You can try the reset procedure and see if that corrects it. Do the warnings go away when you start the ski? I had one flash hot, but the warning would go away when you started the engine. I have 2 of them sitting here that do the same thing and I can't make it go away. A replacement MFD may be in order. Check the overheat sensor and make sure its not grounded.

+1
    MFD Reset:

You may need to first touch the Mode button to wake up the MFD
    Press and hold the MODE and SET buttons until CAL 0000 displays. The CAL display will usually show after 4 seconds
    Release both buttons?
    Press and hold the SET key
    While continuing to hold the SET key and within 2 seconds of pressing the SET key, press and hold the MODE key
    Don't release either key until the MFD shuts down (about ten seconds).
    After the MFD has shut itself down, press the mode key to turn the MFD on