Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

780 carb and oil questions

Okay...looking for the top dogs to chime in. You know who you are...BFC,K4,XL,etc.

#1 Issue:

I was putting some OP flame arrestors from a 95 780SLX on my 96 780 and ran the studs down too far...broke the ear off the carb. No worries; plenty of extras. Just grabbed the carbs off the 95 SLX and went to town rebuilding them. I actually decided to video it because some people think this is such a complicated task, so I thought I'd show how easy it actually it (I'll post it once I'm done).

So then I get stuck. "Why did this parts motor I have burn down?" Being a mechanical engineer I'm constantly killing myself with those questions. As the veterans on here know, the 780 setup FINALLY moved the oil injection nippers onto the carbs instead of the intake manifold or the FA. So I hit the pause button on the camera and think, "I should really check to make sure I'm getting oil through these little nips." I think the standard is that 3 PSI should pop the check valve, so I blew on one of them like a street corner hooker, and I got nothing. Now I'm scared. I pulled another setup off the shelf from...whatever year it might have been, and I could actually blow through the nips. The last thing I want to do is light this thing up and not have any oil. So...what would you do at this point?

#2 Issue:

I've done my due diligence in searching and I have a huge headache from it. OP Vortex FA, hitting 19 PSI on pop-off, 105 HS jets. Is this fkr going to burn up on me, or am I sitting okay. Summer's running out FAST and I need to spend more time on the lake than in the garage (I know; we've all been there).

Thanks, guys. You've all successfully been enablers to my addiction.

...and yeah....I searched my ass off for answers. I think I just get distracted by shiny things.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by Superd2K View Post
    Okay...looking for the top dogs to chime in. You know who you are...BFC,K4,XL,etc.