Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    R3 Reflashes for Australia FZR

    Hi would like to know how people in OZ that have R3 reflashes have had issues? Any engine failures due to the tune not been right I know of only one. I would like to get a R3 but worried about the tune been safe?
    In the states they use lower RON fuel then us.

    I was at the boat show and the Yamaha, they send of your ECU off and tell them what fuel,mods you have and they tune it to suit. Is there no way of checking after the R3 goes in if running safe?


  2. #2
    syk03t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    AUSTRALIA-sydney
    Posts
    213
    +1
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by gtease View Post
    Hi would like to know how people in OZ that have R3 reflashes have had issues? Any engine failures due to the tune not been right I know of only one. I would like to get a R3 but worried about the tune been safe?
    In the states they use lower RON fuel then us.

    I was at the boat show and the Yamaha, they send of your ECU off and tell them what fuel,mods you have and they tune it to suit. Is there no way of checking after the R3 goes in if running safe?
    My brother has a r3 reflash and hasnt had a problem yet

  3. #3
    Phil.Borg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sydney AUS
    Posts
    403
    +1
    3
    I had a r3 also and could not get the afr to a safe level so I bit the bullet and got a motec I got to say it's the best mod I've done it will pay for itself with the fuel saving and you can alway put it off and fit it to your next ski and the support you get from motec in oz is fantastic
    Now I'm not saying a reflash is bad and I'm not bashing the company I'm just saying it didn't work for me

  4. #4
    husadan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Australia,NSW
    Posts
    75
    +1
    6
    I have a FZR R2 ecu will sell for 750 + shipping if your interested

  5. #5
    flipsfzr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    melbourne australia
    Posts
    110
    +1
    5
    so far so good no probs and made a huge difference

  6. #6
    gleson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Wollongong Australia
    Posts
    425
    +1
    13
    I have had no problems with the R3, I would be interested in what wheels people are running in Aus with the R3. I have been looking at C1, C3 and B1, dont want to hammer the clutch or worry about powershot etc. Thanks

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Bayside
    Posts
    20
    +1
    1
    You could always get Gold Coast Waverunners to do a V-tech tune for u then i suppose it would be tuned for our climate and our fuel ratings down here in OZ.just a thought.

  8. #8
    64physhy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Weatherford, TX
    Posts
    1,725
    +1
    168
    I just installed an R3 and first test run, I was running rich everywhere except idle. I think I finally got an understanding of the powershot, so I'm going to adjust it down some until I get it where I want it. With stock boost, it should be good out of the box with no added fuel. I have a B1, and I think it would probably be good with the R3 without the powershot. Next time out, I'm going to zero the powershot out and see what my AFR's are, and adjust up from there. Factory PS settings are rich with the R3.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. WTB WTB R&D R3 Reflash for 2012 FZR !!
    By SAL08HO in forum Yamaha Classifieds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-23-2014, 12:26 PM
  2. WTB R3 reflash for fzs
    By Rock918 in forum Yamaha Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-19-2013, 08:52 PM
  3. R3 reflash results on FZR!!! Really happy!!
    By rologp in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 06-19-2013, 08:22 AM
  4. SOLD For sale R3 reflash for FX SHO $900
    By 02gpR in forum Yamaha Classifieds
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-18-2012, 05:35 PM
  5. FS looking for a COMPUTER WITH(REFLASH) FOR A FZR
    By vette c6 in forum Yamaha Classifieds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-08-2010, 09:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •