Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Unhappy Stx 1100 taking on water

Hi I am brand new to green hulk
    I'm unsure whether this is the right place to post this but...
    I have a Kawa Stx 1100 D.I. 2000, and it runs great, but after about 1/2 hour of riding it gets up to about an 1/2"-1" of water in the bottom. I have a bilge pump on the way, but would like to fix the problem, not band-aid it.

SO far, I have filled the rear up with a few inches of water and noticed 2 little screws leaking but EVER so slightly (A drip every 3-5 seconds), and they are above the water line so I don't think that is the full problem
    -I have NOT started it at the dock with seat of, will try so
    -I ran it on hose, couldn't seem to fund any leaks...
    My xp has bailers, but the kawa doesn't seem to have a bilge or bailers, so I need to fix it...

Any known problem spots?

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by wastadkey View Post
    Any known problem spots?
    The drive shaft holder...the black (approx. 5X5 inch) square piece mounted just behind the engine coupler. The rubber piece gets brittle with age and cracks letting water in. You might also see water coming in around the mounting bolts. Back your ski into the water with it still strapped down on the trailer and check it out. If it's just barely leaking, you might also have to crank the engine to create vibration and pressure to see it leaking.

The holder can be purchased separately or as an assembly with the bearing and seals already in it. You will need to replace all the parts anyway, the assembly makes it more convenient.

Your ski does have a bilge system that works when the ski is in forward motion. If it isn't working, the filters at the bottom of the hoses need to be cleaned or else the little air holes that are at the upper part of the hoses are clogged and need to be opened...or you have too much water volume coming in for it to take care of.

Get yourself a service manual.

3. +1 by: