Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Winterizing my ski

I am totally new to jetski's. Just picked up my first a 1996 Wave Venture 700 that is in excellant condition with only 45 hours. I am not new to motorsports however, and have serveral ATV's (Grizzlies) and snowmobiles (Apex) and have been riding for years. Most everything i have is 4Stroke thou and i know how to winterize them along with my 2 S stuff. But Jetski's are different. I really want to make sure i winterize it properly as i live in a very cold winter climate. Mainly what i would like to know is how to flush to motor to make sure i don't have any freeze damage. I know how to fog, etc... On my ski there is a tube that is coming off the motor and the seller told me that is where i flush it with RV antifreeze. I guess there is a part from yamaha that i can get to connect this to a hose. My concern is how i am going to get the Antifreeze in the motor. Will the motor have enough suction to take it from a 5 gallon bucket etc... any help you can give me would be appreciated.

+1
    Just search "winterize" in this forum. It's all here. Pressurized garden sprayer for antifreeze, full fuel tank, grease fittings, silicone spray, etc. Allot an hour to reading and you will have your answers thanks to the collective wisdom of all the great folks here on the Hulk.

i did, and couldn't find the complete list. I have it all down except for the "pressurized garden sparyer" that's the only thing i need to know how to do.

+1
    I wouldn't worry about the anti-freeze bit for 2 strokers. Just make sure you get all the water out of the system. Dry start it every few days and blip the throttle. I keep as little gas in the tank as possible, and fog. I also put a couple damp rid containers in the hull, one in engine bay and the rear...to soak up extra moisture. Cover with a tarp, and you're gtg.

+1