Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

+1

Ski check engine light on break in period question

Ok I may be asking stupid questions so please excuse me in advanced if this is a dumb question, but I'm new to owning Sea Doo and I have a question. Today I finally got to go out on the lake to ride both my 2012 RXT 260 and my 2008 RXT X. The question I have is as most of us know there's a 5 to 10 hour period where you are supposed to break the motor in and variate the RPM's. The question that I have is today I decided to go into sport mode just to see how quicker the engine performs and when in sport mode if I hit the throttle to get up and go I receive a flashing engine light that says check engine. I called the dealership and they say it is a normal mechanism built in to limit you from going too fast and messing up the engine. The other question I have though is when out of sport mode and in touring mode the ski is significantly weaker and basically tops out at 40 miles and won't go any faster. I want to know if this is normal during the break in period or if maybe there's something go on that shouldn't be. My uncle said prior to switching the modes he was up to about 50 or so and then he heard an alert beeping. I also noticed humming, but I'm thinking it's the supercharger when you accelarate. If any one has knowledge of this or been through this with their skis during the break in period let me know. The dealership could care less about my newbie questions as they have already sold me a ski and I just want to protect my investment, but am confused why I can only go around 40-50 miles limited. Is there a key setting or something off? I was using the DESS key by the way not the learner. Thanks in advanced.

+1